Can I get reimbursed for mileage in workers’ comp in NC?  The answer is if you drive more than 20 miles round trip to your workers’ compensation doctor or therapist, yes.

Getting reimbursed for mileage in workers’ comp in NC, especially for driving to medical appointments, is one of the forgotten benefits for North Carolina workers compensation recipients. If the total trip to the doctor or therapist and back is more than 20 miles, the worker is entitled to receive reimbursement for mileage. The amount of money you will get for mileage reimbursement is set annually by the NC Industrial Commission based on the Standard Mileage Rate set yearly by the IRS.  

For 2014, the rate is 56 cents per mile.  Historical NC workers’ comp mileage reimbursement rates are below. Getting reimbursed for mileage in workers’ comp in NC does not have to be approved by the North Carolina Industrial Commission.  

Mileage should be reported by the injured worker to the employer or the adjuster on a Form 25T, which is available on the North Carolina Industrial Commission’s website. Your NC Workers’ Comp Lawyer may handle this for you. Many injured workers are already making do with less, so any little bit helps.

  • travel prior to June 1, 2000 — 25 cents a mile;
  • between June 1, 2000 and January 17, 2006 — 31 cents a mile;
  • travel between January 18 and December 31, 2006 — 44.5 cents a mile;
  • travel between January 1 and December 31, 2007 — 48.5 cents a mile;
  • travel between January 1 and June 30, 2008 — 50.5 cents a mile;
  • travel between July 1 and December 31, 2008 — 58.5 cents a mile;
  • travel during 2009 — 55 cents a mile;
  • travel during 2010 — 50 cents a mile;
  • travel between January 1 and June 30, 2011 — 51 cents a mile;
  • travel between July 1, 2011 and December 31, 2012 — 55.5 cents a mile;
  • travel between January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2013 — 56.5 cents a mile.

Please call or email if you have questions about getting reimbursed for mileage in workers’ comp in NC.

White Paper COVER Download

Top Ten Tips and Traps for North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Claims

After twenty years of practicing workers’ compensation law in North Carolina I have seen just about every mistake an injured worker can make.  These mistakes range from failing to file their claim, to settling when they should not have, and everything in between. Download my Top Ten Tips and Traps for North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Claims

Perfect! Download link has been sent to your email address.

Share This